Picket Fence Weblog


Generation G, for Green
March 3, 2008, 4:31 pm
Filed under: Home improvement, solar power | Tags: , , , , ,

I came across something over the weekend that I wanted to share with you. Ever since I became interested in “green” philosophies and writing about it, the response has been overwhelming. There are so many people out there, of all ages, that are interested in this topic. I read a quote yesterday from Home Furnishings Business Magazine. It was in an article about an opinion poll called “Going Green”. Names were not given in the poll. One response said,

“Nowadays there are a lot of energy efficient products. I must admit that I had to swallow hard the first time I spent the money to buy new light bulbs…I will save money over the life of the bulbs…Ten years ago, I didn’t have the option to chose ‘green’ lighting, so maybe I appreciate it more now.”

I can’t be certain, but I think many people around the U.S. are starting to feel this exact way. The popularity of green lighting, solar power, and other energy efficient tactics has become less debatable and more accepted. That could mean a brighter future for generations to come. If more children see this type of behavior, they will carry into their adult years as the “norm” instead of a new idea. Any one with me?

For energy efficient and solar products click here.

As always, Art.

chicago city hall

How’s that for going green? Chicago City Hall’s rooftop has saved in energy costs and reduced water runoff. Read more about it here.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

First off, cool picture! I definitely think “going green” is becoming more mainstream. I see stories about it all the time in the news. We destroyed the planet so much in the 70s and 80s that people are now seeing that a change is in order. Kids today growing up need to see that environmental protection should be the norm, not just a fad.

Comment by Ann




Leave a Reply

