Picket Fence Weblog


More about Garden Ponds
January 24, 2008, 1:08 pm
Filed under: Garden, Lawn, pond, yard fun

I have been searching around for more articles and blog spots about garden ponds.  It’s been really great.  There are some truly fascinating stories out there about individuals who built their own ponds, or folks who are trying to build their own garden ponds, as I am.  It’s nice to see a community of people out there who are true DIYers (Do It Yourself-ers).  I guess that probably comes from upbringing, or maybe just the quest for knowledge and pride.

I have finished designing where I want my pond and what shape I want it to look like.  Its going to be a small oblong oval shape.  I made it so it was not completely oval, it has some strange curves to it.  I tried to make it look as natural as possible.  I’ve started looking for liners, which is a technicality, because I’m more into what is going around it and how I am going to finish the overall design.  I know I am going to put a bird feeder close by, possibly a fishing boy, and maybe even a flamingo.  I’m not sure that I’ll be able to fit all that in the small space that I have designed, but I will try.

I’m going to put rocks up on one side, and then let the grass come up on the other.  I’ll probably place a lawn border or maybe a fence there, to keep the grass a few inches away.  I hope it attracts some local wildlife, which everyone tells me is one of the best benefits of having a garden pond.  I’ll write more when I get more decided.

As always, Art.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Did you design the pond freehand on paper or on the computer? I too would be more interested in all the fun stuff that goes around it.

Comment by Ann

Ann, I actually designed it free hand, but I made it to scale using basic graph paper, a pencil, and an eraser. There are programs that you can get that help you design your gardens and ponds. I’ll see what I can come up with.

Comment by Arthur




Leave a Reply

