Picket Fence Weblog


Winter Wonderland?
December 6, 2007, 12:48 pm
Filed under: Links, Outdoor Enthusiasts, Winter

We had our first significant snow accumulation this week. I have to say it – I was unprepared. My snowplow guy for the last 2 years ditched me without the common courtesy of letting me know (that is an entirely different blog/rant in and of itself), so I had to shovel myself. Shoveling is great exercise, but I have back issues so I need to be really careful. I decided to give the Electric Snow Thrower a try. I plugged it in, pressed the button, held down the lever and I was good to go. For the price, you can’t beat this product. It does a fantastic job on sidewalks and snow up to about 4-5 inches. Now, this is not going to power through 2 feet at a time (which yes, is what we sometimes get up here in the snow belt), but for your day to day average snow fall, it does the job. Another nice thing about this product is that there is no assembly. You just pull it out of the box and use it. I personally hope it is a mild winter and I won’t have to use any snow thrower or shovel. But, it doesn’t look that way so far. Hope your winter is off to a great start!

Until next time… Ann 🙂

p611402l.jpg

A lot of people like snow. I find it to be an unnecessary freezing of water.

– Carl Reiner

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I live in the city so I have the added joy of having to shovel a sidewalk as well as my driveway and walkways around my house. I have always used a shovel and my back to clean up the various areas. The other night I was on Picket Fence looking for some gifts for the upcoming holidays and birthdays and found the
Sno-Viver Auto Emergency Kit. I bought two. One for my wife’s car and one for mine.
Although I could defiantly get into not having all that shoveling, I think I am going to stick with the shovel for another year. I do like being outside and the feeling of accomplishment after finishing the job, if only to have it covered again within a few hours. There is however one product that I have ordered and cannot wait to try that will hopefully save me a great deal of back strain. I hate it when I have a shovel full of wet snow, I go to throw it and it sticks to the shovel, carrying me with all my momentum into a snow bank. That is a best case scenario sometimes I try to stop it and end up pulling what seems like every muscle in my lower back. Anyway I found this product. The Snow Shooter, it stops the snow from sticking to whatever you spray it on. I wonder if I could spray down my whole car with it so I didn’t have to brush it off in the morning, another great winter chore. The south looks better and better ever year.

Comment by Chuck




Leave a Reply

